18.—Seventeenth Ministry of Nova Scotia, as at June 30, 1966

(Party standing at latest General Election, Oct. 8, 1963: 39 Progressive Conservative and 4 Liberal.)

Оffice	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and Minister of Education Minister of Finance and Economics and	Hon. R. L. STANFIELD	Nov. 20, 1956	Nov. 20, 1956
Chairman of the Nova Scotia Power Commission. Attorney General and Minister of Public	Нов. G. I. Sмитн	Nov. 20, 1956	(May 2, 1962 Nov. 20, 1956
Health.	Hon. R. A. DONAHOE	Nov. 20, 1956	Nov. 20, 1956
Minister of Public Works and Minister of Righways. Minister of Lands and Forests and Minister	Ноп. S. T. Руке	Nov. 20, 1956	Nov. 20, 1956 May 2, 1962
of Fisheries	Hon. E. D. HALIBURTON		{July 27, 1959 {July 8, 1964
Minister of Labour	HOR. N. L. FERGUSSON	Nov. 20, 1956	May 2, 1962
Minister of Trade and Industry	HOB. W. S. KENNEDY JONES	Apr. 21, 1960	July 6, 1964 May 2, 1962
Minister without Portfolio	Hon. G. A. BURRIDGE	Oct. 13, 1960	Oct. 13, 1960
Minister of Mines and Minister in Charge of the Liquor Control Act	Hon. D. M. Smrth	Oct. 13, 1960	(Dec. 12, 1961 Oct. 13, 1960
Minister without Portfolio	HOR. D. R. MACLEOD	July 6, 1964	July 6, 1964
Minister of Public Welfare Minister of Municipal Affairs	Hon. J. M. HARDING Hod. T. J. McKrough		July 6, 1964 July 6, 1964
Minister of Agriculture and Marketing and Minister under the Water Act Provincial Secretary and Minister in Charge	Hon. I. W. Axerley		July 6, 1964
of Civil Defence	Hon. G. J. DOUCET	July 6, 1964	July 6, 1964

Subsection 4.—New Brunswick

The Government of New Brunswick has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation (1867) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 108; since that date, the position has been held by the Hon. J. Leonard O'Brien, appointed June 6, 1958, followed by the Hon. John B. McNair, appointed June 9, 1965.

The Legislature elected Apr. 22, 1963 is the 45th in New Brunswick's history and the 18th since Confederation. It has 52 members who are elected for a statutory term of five years. Premiers from Confederation to 1959 are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 108; the present Premier assumed office in 1960.

The Premier receives \$7,500 per annum in addition to the salary for any other portfolio he may hold. The salary of each Cabinet Minister is \$10,000 and the amount paid as indemnity to each member of the House of Assembly is \$3,400 plus an additional \$1,700 allowance for expenses. The Leader of the Opposition receives an additional \$6,000 and the Speaker receives an allowance of \$4,000 in addition to the regular indemnity.

19.—Legislatures of New Brunswick, 1945-66, as at June 30, 1966

Norz.-Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 77; for 1924-35 in the 1938 edition, p. 112; and for 1936-44 in the 1963-64 edition, p. 84.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Aug. 28, 1944 June 28, 1948 Sept. 22, 1952 June 18, 1956 June 27, 1960 Apr. 22, 1963	13th 14th 15th	43	Feb. 20, 1945 Mar. 8, 1949 Feb. 12, 1953 Feb. 21, 1957 Nov. 17, 1960 May 28, 1963	May 18, 1948 July 16, 1952 Apr. 17, 1956 May 19, 1960 Mar. 12, 1963

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at June 30, 1966.